World Series Champs!!!

So to continue from my last post, I did go downtown on Friday night to watch the game from the streets with a few friends. For some reason, word must have gotten out that the Cards were going to clinch the series that night because the streets were packed...we could barely get close to the fence where we had been standing just 3 nights earlier for game 3. The crowd was excited, we were pumped, and everyone's eyes were glued to the screen. During the ninth inning, the gates opened and they let everyone into the stadium which led to a stampede of people trying to get a better view. We got in and found a view of the field just in time to watch Wainwright strike Inge out to end the game! We all went crazy! Strangers hugged strangers, everyone was high-fiving, and confetti was flying everywhere. Unfortuneately, they had the SWAT team out and they wouldn't let anyone on the field. Since we couldn't get on the field, we headed up to the next level to get a better view. After celebrating for a while in the stadium, we headed out to look for some of the vendors that were selling the stadium edition newspapers on the streets and we loaded up on those cheap souviners...hey they only cost 50 cents each. We celebrated on the streets for awhile with a few thousand of our closest friends...Pat even ran through the streets without his shirt on-granted he did warn us before the game that he was going to. We finally headed home, honking and screaming all the way out of the parking garage and town. Go Cards!!!

